The 2011 transatlantic diablog award – WINNER Q & A with Peas and Cougars (Part 1)

M Rae is the woman behind Peas and Cougars, the blog that got most votes at this year’s transatlantic diablog award. Located in San Francisco, CA we got in touch with her shortly after the announcement. She reveals the story behind her blog’s name and also created a special comic for us (as featured above).

tdb: First of all, congratulations on winning. You got 21% of all votes. A word to the voters, please.

Rae: I was so surprised that I won. I visited every single blog on the list and there were some really great blogs, so thank you to everyone who voted for me. I’m really flattered.

tdb: How did you notice that you were nominated?

Rae: I actually got a pingback, which I usually always check, and saw that I had been nominated. 

tdb: So what would you say your blog is about?

Rae: Just about different life experiences really, which I try to keep a humorous slant on. 

tdb: We made a mistake and thought your comics were Microsoft Paint-Art. Tell us the truth.

Rae: Haha, actually in some ways I wish I could use Paint, but I use a Mac so I can’t. I use Photoshop Essentials, which I had never used before prior to this blog. If you go back you’ll see that my comics have slowly gotten better as I’ve learned new techniques. I’m sure there are a million things I could be doing better though. 

tdb: You have invented recurring characters. Which one do you like most?

Rae: Well, most of my characters are based off of real life people. I’m the girl in the green dress and my husband is the guy in the blue outfit. Some of my other characters represent friends and others I make up. I’m not sure I have a favorite – they’re like my children and it doesn’t seem fair to choose. 

tdb: When did you start Peas and Cougars and why?

Rae: I’ve started and eventually stopped a lot of blogs over the past five years or so. I realized that in order to maintain a blog, it had to be something I really enjoyed doing. So Peas and Cougars started out as an experiment, but I’m having so much fun with it that it’s hopefully here to stay. 

tdb: What about the name?

Rae: I actually took a long time thinking up a name. I brainstormed on things that stood out from my childhood – one was peas and how much I hated them (still do) and the other was cougars. I grew up in the mountains and we would frequently have cougars visiting our property and I would pretend that the cougars were my imaginary friends. Actually, we called the cougars mountain lions, but peas and mountain lions didn’t have the same ring to it, and for all intents and purposes they’re the same thing. 

In part 2 of our interview with Rae from Peas and Cougars – published later this week – she speaks about what she expects from our famous blog host WordPress and what we can expect from Peas and Cougars and the whole blogsphere in 2012.

Stay with us… (and her)

 

4 thoughts on “The 2011 transatlantic diablog award – WINNER Q & A with Peas and Cougars (Part 1)

  1. i’m a master craftsman of MS Paint but have now moved onto a slightly more sophisticated (and free!!! yes that’s 3 exclamation marks) Paint.NET just as easy but more tools. i’ve never bought an apple product haha sooooo doubt i’ll ever have photoshop (tried it a few times, always resulted in mass confusion and defiance)

Community

