The 2011 transatlantic diablog award – WINNER Q & A with Peas and Cougars (Part 2)

 

M Rae of Peas and Cougars is the winner of the 2011 transatlantic diablog award. In part 1 of our two-part-interview with her she revealed the story behind her blog and its name. Now she speaks about what to expect from 2012 and WordPress in terms of blogging.

tdb: Blogging can be a full-time Job. How much time a week do you spend working for/on the blog?

Rae: When a post has comics, it usually takes anywhere from one to three hours to complete. I’ve thought about making more polished looking comics, but the result would mean that I wouldn’t be able to post as often. I like being able to put something up at least a few times a week, so I try to keep the comics more simple and manageable. Other than that, I spend a little bit of time each day moderating comments and interacting with other blogs. 

tdb: Why WordPress?

Rae: I tried several different blogging platforms but I really liked how clean and simple WordPress was. It really gives you all the tools to individualize your blog as much as you want. 

tdb: Have you been featured as “Freshly Pressed” by WordPress? If not, which of your posts post would you like to present there?

Rae: Yes, I was Freshly Pressed once! It was for my post “Writer’s Block,” which I thought was funny because I was really tired when I wrote and didn’t put as much effort into it as I normally would have. If I could pick one to feature I might pick “The Danger of Being Sick,” mainly because I love the way the ant turned out. 

tdb: Any other blogs you read on a regular basis?

Rae: Oh yes, there are probably at least 50 blogs I read on a regular basis. I can’t get enough of them. 

tdb: So you are from west of the Atlantic. Have you ever been on the other side?

Rae:  I’m from west of the Atlantic! I actually live and work just a few miles from the Pacific Ocean, so I’m about as far west as you can get. I haven’t had a chance to travel to the other side of the Atlantic, but hopefully I will one day soon.

tdb: We are up for topics, trends and trivia. What do you think people will talk and write about in 2012?

Rae:  I think there will be a lot of topics and trends revolving around politics, especially since this is an election year for America. Other than that, I expect a lot of sci-fi films and speculation on the end of the world.

tdb: Any new plans or projects for Peas and Cougars in 2012?

Rae: Not specifically. I’m always worried I’m going to run out of content, but then some random thing will happen that gives me something to write about. I do have a few personal projects semi-related or inspired by Peas and Cougars that I’m hoping to work on though.

 

One thought on “The 2011 transatlantic diablog award – WINNER Q & A with Peas and Cougars (Part 2)

Community

